Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pantera poundage

Wizz

Red face Pantera poundage

Hello, I am a new Martin owner, purchased a Pantera about a month ago. I have been shooting compounds for about 15 years now and must say my Pantera is the smoothest bow I have shot. I owned Hoyt,PSE, Jennings bows none as quiet or smooth as this Martin. My question is with the pondage. I purchased a 45 to 60 lb bow( previous bows wer all 70's), I wanted to shoot its peak weight or a bit more if possible however my dealer could only get 58lbs max. Is this normal or can there be something done to get me to 60+ without changing the limbs?

Thanks

oncechance

Hello. You or your dealer need to do some "twisting of the cables" to increase your poundage.

Wizz

Talking

Thank you very much, I will be out for a visit to the dealer next week and will see how it goes.

Destroyer

Buy some new limbs. You won't get much out of twisting the cables up any way, maybe a few pounds You could end up with cracked limbs as a result.

No chance of getting 70lbs out of it.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Destroyer View Post
    Buy some new limbs. You won't get much out of twisting the cables up any way, maybe a few pounds You could end up with cracked limbs as a result.

No chance of getting 70lbs out of it.
    He is not looking for 70#. Just trying to get 60#, but 59# is within acceptable parameters for any bow. That's only 2# light. Venturing an educated guess about 4 to 5 twists on each cable should be all that's necessary.

Be aware that twisting the cables to boost the weight is going to increase the draw length a little bit. Maybe you'll be OK with it, but if not you can shorten up that little bit with the draw stop. Were only talking about maybe 1/8".
    If You're Not Living on the Edge You're Taking Up Too Much Space
    Martin Gold Plus Staff Shooter
    Alien Mafia
    PSAA Life member, UBP Life member
    PADI AOW Diver

Destroyer