Thread: Green horn needs some help setting up my bow

Unregistered

Default Green horn needs some help setting up my bow

I am new to archery and recieved a Martin Saber as a gift,
    i initialy tryed to set up the bow my self / set the peep sight / reolaced the stinger rest to a wisker biscuit/ set the nock height acording to the manual that was supplied.
    at 20 yards I could not adjust the sight enough to get the bow to shoot higher / I was hitting the ground instead of the target/ called Martin for some help ( that was interesting as they were no help) they said I should have the bow tuned by a profesional. so thats what I did / 27 inch daraw / pined the peep sight / reset the nock and wisker biscuit, but the bow still shoots low and we ran out of adjustment on the sight at 20 yards,
    called martin again and again they are no help they want me to pay to send the bow back so they can look at it.

any Idea what would cause the bow to shoot low.
    thanks

Post Thanks / Like

I also just started with archery, and when I got my bow, it was my buddies and it was all set. I hit low also. I tried adjusting the sight just like you, and after I shot for a while, I had to start moving the sight again. I think I caught myself rocking my wrist. I have now moved the sight almost back to where I started. I had another friend come over and watch me shoot, to try to make sure it was a form thing and not an equipment thing. If you have anybody that could look at you shooting, or maybe even take a video of yourself. Just a thought. Good luck.
    2012 Alien X

Post Thanks / Like

This is almost always a matter of your anchor being too high. Lower your anchor which will necessitate moving your peep (if you use one) farther up the string. If you are a normally proprtioned person your peep should end up somewhere between 5" and 6" above the nocking point.