Thread: Trajectory

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trajectory

Hi,
    I've been lurking on this site for a little while, but this is my first post. I've been impressed by the wealth of knowledge here. It has helped me enormously, since I'm a newbie to archery.

My Question (and please forgive if it's already been answered):

If shooting uphill/downhill, is the trajectory different from shooting on a horizontal surface? In other words, if tuning of sights and rest is undertaken on an uphill surface, would the tuning be off when then shooting on a horizontal surface? Instinct tells me yes, but I have no science attached to the "butt dyno".

String builder/ Super Moderator Hutch~n~Son Archery's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Yes sighting in up hill or down hill I believe will be a major difference. I have shot at a 3d range. Some of the shots were down hill and when I say down hill it was steep. At the 45yard marker what pin would you use? The 10 yard pin was a heart shot. The 45 yard pin was 2 feet over the head. So I have found it best to tune on a level surface. Maybe some of the others on here will pipe in and help expound with greater wisdom.

Hutch
    Last edited by Hutch~n~Son Archery; 02-18-2011 at 05:03 PM.
    Bow String Depot Custom String Builders
    Need a string set pm or email me @ bowstringdepot@gmail.com
    or check us out @ http://bowstringdepot.com

Post Thanks / Like

I have to say yes.Before the season ,I practice from my stand and sight in.Also make sure to use good form,bend at the waist when shooting down.
    Here is a take on shooting from a stand.

When you shoot your bow on level ground, the arrow is actually pointing slightly upward on the rest. When you release the string, it archers up, crosses your line of sight and then drops back down to the target. It crosses your sight line twice.