Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just purchased my first recurve

Post Thanks / Like

Default Just purchased my first recurve

hi everyone, i just purchased a martin hunter on a bit of a whim. i've been shooting compounds for about 20 years and now have it in my head that i need to learn how to shoot more traditional equipment. i am a novice to say the least but am eager to learn. i would like to eventually become an accurate enough shooter to hunt with my recurve.
    so, here is what i am searching for help with:
    1) reccommended quivers (i always hunt with one attached to my compound)
    2) what arrows to shoot (60# bow); i prefer carbons
    3) what weight field points/ broadheads
    4) any other useful equipment and advise for someone just getting started

it's hard for me to get to a computer very regularly, but i appreciate any info that y'all can give me. thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

bow is 60# at 28". my draw length is 29.5"

Post Thanks / Like

Not sure on todays recurves , but if we compare to compound's one turn on limb bolt equaling 3# we'll say you bow will stack 3# an inch, giving you about 65#'s. I'd a mid weight carbon, 100 grn point, a 6-8 arrow bow mounted quiver will do, I say that many due to a recurves adapatabilty, you'll want to carry some small game heads.
    http://eastoutfitter.tripod.com/index.html
    http://cascadianbowmen.com/
    Martin 06 Slayer, Nitrous C, shoot thru, 63lb, Quiktune 3000, HAA OL 5519, Beman ICS Hunter
    Martin 06 Slayer, Nitrous C, Shoot thru, 55lb, Quiktune 3000, HHA OL 5519 2X, Easton A/C/C
    Ben Pearson 1968 'Cougar' 62" 45#s @ 28" recurve, parallel shaft POC, Zwickey 'Eskimo' 2 blade

Post Thanks / Like

look at this link fill in the box with your info It will spit out a few shafts for you to use.. http://www.eastonarchery.com/products/selection

I shoot a 48# @ 28 with a 31+" draw thats makes it right at 55#
    Using a vapor pro 400 with 100 tip.. works for me..